Undergraduate Writing Prizes

Congratulations to all winners of Caltech undergraduate writing prizes in the humanities!

Alexander P. and Adelaide F. Hixon Prize for Writing in Freshman Humanities

Established in 2000 by Alexander P. and Adelaide F. Hixon, the Hixon Prize for Writing is awarded to an undergraduate student for the best composition in a freshman humanities course. The prize recipient is chosen by a humanities committee in conjunction with the Hixon Writing Center.

Elsa Palumbo, "Utilitarian Calculations and the Moral Status of Strong AI" (2020)

Diego Olaya, "The Spectre of Race" (2019)

Galilea von Ruden, "Why the Turing Test Revised Is Still the Turing Test" (2018)

Crystal Liang, "Why Was The Feminine Mystique Such a Phenomenon?: A Clarification" (2017)

Gideon Leeper, "Empiricism and Mathematical Knowledge" (2016)

Gordon McClure Memorial Communications Prize

The Gordon McClure Memorial Communications Prize is awarded by the humanities faculty to undergraduate students for excellence in written and oral communication skills.  

2021 Winners

English: Victoria Liu, "Ahab's Solipsism and the Illusion of Self-Reliance"

History: Saehui Hwang, "History of Hearing Aids"

Philosophy: Ryan White, "Fairness, Morality, and Pursuing an Ideal System of Distributive Justice"

2020 Winners

English: Victoria Liu, "On Lily Bart's Specializations and Survival in the Upper Class

History: Karen Pham, " 'Otherness': Examining the Relationship Between Human and Non-Human"

Philosophy: Lucca de Mello, "What Criteria Should Be Used to Determine Whether an Automated Decision Procedure is Fair?"

2019 Winners

English: Crystal Liang, "Recollected Sanity"

History: George Daghlian "A History of Budgetary Politics in the United States

Philosophy: Nishad Maskara "Electromagnetism is Time Reversible and the Magnetic Field is a Dynamical Condition"

2018 Winners

English: Maitreyi Nair, "An Exploration of Letter-Writing in Jane Austen's Work

History: Tara Shankar, "Why Cervantes' History is His Story"

Philosophy: Jonathan Chan, "Moral Distinctions Between Passive and Active Euthanasia"

2017 Winners

English: Zofii Kaczmarek, "Gaudy Night Essay"

History: Christina Lin, "The Rhetoric of Change"

Philosophy: Kshitij Grover, "Living with Sisyphus"

2016 Winners

English: Suchita Nety, "Feminine Intellectual Fertility in the Writing of Christine de Pizan"

History: Leo Balestri, "Fifty Years of Dividing Lines"

Philosophy: William Hoza, "A Can of Worms"

Mary A. Earl McKinney Prize in Literature

The Mary A. Earl McKinney Prize in Literature was established in 1946 by Samuel P. McKinney, M.D., of Los Angeles. Its purpose is to promote proficiency in writing. The terms under which it is given are decided each year by the literature faculty; it may be awarded for essays submitted in connection with regular literature classes or on the basis of a special essay contest.

2021 Winners

Poetry: Shiva Mudide, "Savor"

Prose: Hrishika Basava, "Unravel at the Seams"

2020 Winners

Poetry: Karen Pham, 'maybe i thought growing up would be more glamourous" with Andrew Chan as an Honorable Mention

Prose: Melba Nuzen, "Exogenesis"

2019 Winners

Poetry: Maria De Angelis, "When I Learned to Be Meek"

Prose: Mohar Chatterjee's "Prodigal"

2018 Winners

Poetry: Laura Hu, " Image of a Dragonfly"

Prose: Timothy Liu, "iLost: A tale for our Time"

2017 Winners

Poetry: Karen Pham, "on loving a falling star"

Prose: Daniel McAndrew, "Insect Sisyphus"

2016 Winners

Poetry: Matthew Lim, "Encounter"

Prose: Sirus Han, "Silent Goodbyes"

Hallet Smith Prize

The Hallett Smith Prize was established in 1997 to commemorate Professor Smith's long career as one of this century's most distinguished Renaissance scholars. The cash prize is awarded by the literature faculty to a student who writes the finest essay on Shakespeare.

2021 Winner

Andrew Chan,"Messy Definitions and Blurred Lines: Marriage, Autonomy, and Reconciliation in Shakespeare's Measure for Measure"

2020 Winner

Nivedita Kanrar, "Types of Femininity in Shakespeare's Tragedies"

2019 Winner

Brendan Holloway, "Impassioned Love and Marriage in Shakespeare's Comedies

2018 Winner

Reeti Gulati, "The Rose of Human Emotion and Character in Shakespeare's Othello vs. God and Heaven in Cinthio's "A Moorish Captain

2017 Winners

Gauri Shastri, "The Women of Othello: Shakespeare's Reinterpretation of "A Moorish Captain

Suchita Nety, "Objects of Interpretation in Othello

For more information about applying for these prizes, please contact us.